Running from Ghosts – A Poem

3301142923_aef540890f_b

On that day that we both remember,

It was cold and mid December,

I left my home and all I knew,

It was worth it to escape the pain of you,

Not love not sorrow fills my illusive heart,

But disappoint that you could let us part,

What are laughing lovers if not friends,

And I thought it was a friendship that would never end,

Some may say that running is easy to do,

But they never knew the temptation of just seeing you,

I travelled far from this place I called home,

Where the land is hot and my heart can roam,

With the sand between my toes and my heart abound,

Thoughts of you are lost but always found,

It’s not that I don’t remember you fondly because I do my dear,

But a wise woman once told me that he is not for you if he make you tear,

Far away from my friend lover with a healthy heart and mind,

He stood before me saying he was blind,

He did not belong in my life with the sand and the sea,

And deep down he knew he didn’t belong with  me,

It turned out coincidence brought us together once more,

We smiled and waved walking past each other like never before,

We were no longer bound to each others young past,

Just a ghost that had no need to haunt at  last


Leave a comment